18 comments on “Branching in GitKraken

  1. Pingback: What are ‘branches’? | Regan's Blog

  2. Pingback: Git | Regan's Blog

  3. Pingback: Branching in Tortoise Git | Regan's Blog

  4. Pingback: FAQ | Regan's Blog

  5. Pingback: Getting Started | Regan's Blog

  6. Pingback: Working with GitKraken for Windows | Regan's Blog

  7. Pingback: Getting Started with GitKraken for Windows | Regan's Blog

  8. Pingback: Working with Tortoise Git for Windows | Regan's Blog

  9. Pingback: Getting Started with Tortoise Git for windows | Regan's Blog

  10. Pingback: Getting Started with Git CLI for windows (Git Bash) | Regan's Blog

  11. Pingback: Git Tasks (simplified) | Regan's Blog

  12. Pingback: Common Git Commands | Regan's Blog

  13. Pingback: What is Git? | Regan's Blog

  14. I have to merge Master into my branch from time to time. I know how to do this in Sourcetree (When in my branch, right click on Master and select ‘Merge master into MY_BRANCH_NAME’), but I can’t figure out how to do that in Gitkraken. Surely there’s a way..?

    • It should work the same way. If you were on development` branch, right click on `master`, the merge option should show up, unless development is ahead of master, in which case you will only be able to rebase. You can also drag/drop branches on top of each other as a way to prompt for a merge. Don’t suppose you are trying to merge a remote branch to a local or something? I noticed some bugs showing up in the latest version of GitKraken.

      • “unless development is ahead of master, in which case you will only be able to rebase”

        That doesn’t make much sense to me, though.

        In the most common workflow I know, “development” should usually be ahead, and not behind, “master”. Branch from master, develop on the branch, and occasionally merge changes from origin/master back into the development branch, so as to not fall too far behind on the work other developers have been doing and end up with a Monster Merge back into master.

        Any other Git client I’ve used makes this process very simple and quick. In GitKraken, however, dragging the master branch onto the development branch, or vice versa, only offers me the option to merge development into master, the exact opposite of what I want. The only thing going in the right direction is, as you mention, rebasing. And one of the very few iron rules I’ve read about Git is to never rebase onto a branch that has been pushed to a remote (although most people in my company actually go one step further and stick to the “don’t rebase ever, period”).

        My current workaround when I want to update my branch with the latest changes from master, is to open SourceTree (or Git commandline) and do it there, then let GitKraken figure out what’s changed while it wasn’t looking.

      • I also never rebase, period. If I cant merge master to my branch it is usually cos there is nothing to merge though. I consider master branch more something strictly for merging TO but not from.

      • I should have added that in my case, “master” really corresponds to the “develop” branch in Gitflow. In the case of a Gitflow master, I agree with you.

        But I’m sure I’m not the only one who prefers to occasionally pull in the latest changes from “develop” to make sure everything still integrates well. Otherwise, I’ll have to deal with a huge merge potentially months down the line, with much more difficult to estimate consequences. I guess the Gitflow answer to that is that that’s a sign of too big a feature branch, but sometimes that’s what makes most sense. I’ve read Git workflow tutorials that mention such a step explicitly, but since GitKraken doesn’t support that operation, I guess its authors disagree.

Leave a Reply

